CEPAR

You are here

Pensions and COVID-19: The Global Experience

IPRA

The 28th Annual Colloquium of Pensions and Retirement Research will host a special online session on 'Pensions and COVID-19: The Global Experience', sponsored by the International Pension Research Association (IPRA), on December 14, 2020.


PROGRAM: Pensions and COVID-19: The Global Experience

IPRA special session in the 28th Colloquium of Pensions and Retirement Research

Chair: Professor Hazel Bateman

MONDAY, 14 DECEMBER - Online

Session 1: 9.30am-10.30am UTC, Time Zone

Chair: John Piggott (CEPAR Director, UNSW Sydney)

(London, UK: 9.30am-10.30am GMT, UTC+0), (Tilburg, Netherlands: 10.30am-11.30am CET, UTC+1), (Sydney, Australia: 8.30pm-9.30pm AEDT, UTC+11), (Santiago, Chile: 6.30am-7.30am CLST, UTC-3), (Philadelphia, USA: 4.30am-5.30am EST, UTC-5)

Welcome Remarks

Portfolio Management for Insurers and Pension Funds and COVID-19: Targeting Volatility for Equity, Balanced and Target-Date Funds with Leverage Constraints

Bao Doan (RMIT, Vietnam), Jonathan Reeves (UNSW Business School) and Michael Sherris (CEPAR and UNSW Business School)

Measuring Risk and Time Preferences During the Emergence of the COVID-19 Crisis: Relation with Investment Behaviour

Jorgo Goossens (Tilburg University, Department of Econometrics and Operations Research and Netspar) and Marike Knoef (Leiden University, Department of Economics and Netspar)

Break: 10.30am – 10.45am UTC, Time Zone

Session 2: 10.45am-11.45am UTC, Time Zone

Chair: Mike Orszag (Willis Towers Watson)

(London, UK: 10.45am-11.45am GMT, UTC+0), (Tilburg, Netherlands: 11.45am-12.45pm CET, UTC+1), (Sydney, Australia: 9.45pm-10.45pm AEDT, UTC+11), (Santiago, Chile: 7.45am-8.45am CLST, UTC-3), (Philadelphia, USA: 5.45am-6.45am EST, UTC-5)

Determinants of Early-Access to Retirement Savings: Lessons from the Australian Government Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic  

Hazel Bateman (CEPAR and UNSW Business School), Isabella Dobrescu (UNSW Business School, CEPAR), Junhao Liu (University of Sydney Business School, CEPAR), Ben R Newell (UNSW Psychology, CEPAR) and Susan Thorp (University of Sydney Business School, CEPAR) 

Retirement Funds Early Access During a Pandemic: Impact on Financial Markets

Viviana Fernández (Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez) and Felix Villatoro (Universidad Adolfo Ibanez and Netspar)

Break: 11.45am – 12.00pm UTC, Time Zone

Session 3 – Keynote: 12.00pm – 12.45pm UTC, Time Zone

Chair: Hazel Bateman, IPRA President (CEPAR, UNSW Sydney)

(London, UK: 12.00pm-12.45pm GMT, UTC+0), (Tilburg, Netherlands: 1.00pm-1.45pm CET, UTC+1), (Sydney, Australia: 11.00pm-11.45pm AEDT, UTC+11), (Santiago, Chile: 9.00am-9.45am CLST, UTC-3), (Philadelphia, USA: 7.00am-7.45am EST, UTC-5)

Building Better Retirement Systems in the Wake of the Global Pandemic

Olivia S. Mitchell (Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania)

Closing Remarks: 12.45pm UTC, Time Zone

Supported by



supported byDirect event or media enquiries to: Silke Weiss

Date: 
Monday, December 14, 2020 - 20:30
End date: 
Monday, December 14, 2020 - 23:45
Location: 
Online