You are here

Director’s message

John Piggott CEPAR Director UNSW economist

Scientia Professor John Piggott AO, CEPAR Director, UNSW Sydney

It was very gratifying to see the work of so many CEPAR researchers and students recently recognised. Chief Investigator Hazel Bateman, Associate Investigator Katja Hanewald, and PhD students Yafei Si and Robert Annabel all received awards at the UNSW Business School Staff Excellence Award Ceremony; PhD students Jess Amos and Shu Chen won UNSW’s Visualise Your Thesis and Three Minute Thesis competitions, respectively; and PhD students Jess Amos, Nicole Ee, Abigail Hansen, Jana Koch, and James Lian received various Neuroscience Research Australia awards and scholarships. Congratulations to everyone!

CEPAR has steadily built a global reputation for its research and impact in population ageing over the past 13 years and as we enter the final 12 months of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence Scheme funding we are turning our thoughts to planning an event in 2024 to showcase the achievements of our research personnel. I am looking forward to sharing more details with you as our plans firm up.  

In the meantime, we will be extending our research briefs and fact sheets series in the coming months to include publications on diversity in an ageing Australia as well as workplace organisation.

And there are still opportunities for students to join CEPAR and experience the CEPAR research environment. Applications are now being accepted for the final round of the CEPAR summer research scholarships, open to currently enrolled undergraduate students who are considering Honours or postgraduate studies in the field. Applications close on September 29, and students from diverse backgrounds are encouraged to apply. Later this year, applications will open for the CEPAR Honours Scholarships.

» Back to the newsletter «